Tititea Aspiring and The Otago Alps

(No reviews yet)
Current Stock:
Adding to cart… The item has been added

It is over one hundred years since Mount Aspiring was first climbed, and mountaineers continue to find new adventures throughout this section of the Southern Alps.

The essential guide to these peaks has been completely revised for this edition.

The Aspiring region takes in the mountainous country stretching from Tioripatea Haast Pass to Lake Wakatipu. This area includes magnificent Tititea Mt Aspiring, New Zealand’s only three thousand metre peak outside of the Aoraki Mt Cook region, as well as the popular Pikirakatahi Mt Earnslaw. Framed by the Hollyford valley, the Main Divide, and the Makarora valley, most of the peaks covered in this guide are in the headwaters of the mighty Mata-au/Clutha River watershed. The topography of the area covered is extremely diverse, including glaciated peaks, thick rainforest, inviting tarns, serene beech forest, isolated river valleys, golden tussock and jagged rocky ridges.
This new and revised edition includes all new route descriptions and colour topographic photographs. Readers will find up-to-date information on climbing routes, detailed access descriptions and all the background information necessary to enjoy the lifetime of climbing opportunities in the region.

210mm x 148mm, paperback
Colour images

268 pages

Published: June 2024, 5th Edition

ISBN: 978-1-9911979-1-7